Review Summary
4.6
10 Reviews
5
70% (7)
4
20% (2)
3
10% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
90% Recommend this product (9 of 10 responses)
By Warren
Norfolk, VA
November 13, 2019
It Works
I purchased this sponge because it was recommended for use with ONR. It works as advertised, did not cause swirls but is expensive.
ProsIt works.
ConsExpensive
By Jack
Oceanside, CA
October 23, 2019
Works Extremely Well
Used with ONR to do my first two rinse-less washes...works as advertised!
By Paul
Glen Allen, VA
September 30, 2019
Great for ONR washes!
I was a little skeptical about using a sponge during my ONR washes, however after seeing multiple videos demonstrating the use and advantages of the Big Red Sponge (BRS), I decided to give it a shot. Upon opening my package from Autogeek my first impression of the BRS was, it's not that big! After mixing up an ONR solution and soaking the sponge overnight, I started my wash. I was impressed. The size is perfect, it picks up dirt from the surface of the paint without marring and releases it into the bucket just as advertised. I pre-spray ONR, apply additional ONR to the panel/glass using the BRS, then dry using Opti-Seal as my drying aid. Love this combination, the BRS is a good tool to have for anyone using ONR.
ProsSoft Releases dirt easily Just the right size No marring
By Andy
ROSEMEAD, CA
September 14, 2019
better than expected
this sponge works great with ONR. it's much faster and more efficient than using the mitt or microfiber towel. the way it picks up the dirt and releases back in the bucket is so effortless my only regrets is I was skeptical at the beginning so I didn't get it sooner.
By WaxMan
Illinois
August 22, 2019
Best Applicator for ONR
This is my third one - last abut a year with rinseless washes every week! Noticed the one I received is exceptionally soft as prior ones bought needed to soak in ONR for 24 hours to soften them for best results.
ProsIt works well with ONR - prefer over several MF towels.
By Keegan
Memphis, TN
August 4, 2019
Big Red Sponge Time Saver!
At first, I didn't believe that you could wash a car with only a bucket with a few gallons of water, ONR, and a Big Red Sponge (BRS)! After watching a lot of reviews recommending it, I finally bit the bullet. I can't believe how much I like using the BRS/ONR combo. It has drastically reduced my wash times while also conserving some water!
ProsVery simple to use Seems very durable Fingers of the sponge get in hard to reach spots
ConsPrice is rather high for a sponge
By luis
Texas
April 7, 2018
It works but..
This product works as advertised but the foam started to tear around the edges during the first wash. I don't know how long it will last.
By Mark
Palo, Iowa
March 14, 2018
Give it a try, you will love it.
I agree with other reviewers whose initial response to this product was "a sponge, are you kidding?". I thought it sounded like a terrible idea. I initially tried to use microfiber towels to do a rinseless wash, and did not not like the experience. Before giving up on the rinseless wash idea completely, I decided to try the BRS. I immediately realized it was the ideal wash media. It's easy to control how much solution you want to apply, it's easy to move over the surface of the car (to me, much easier to use than microfiber towels), and rinses clean after each pass. In the winter, when the sponge is getting dirty, I just add a bucket of warm, clean water to my routine. I can wring out the sponge thoroughly and my rinseless solution stays perfectly clean. I feel like the BRS will last me a long time. I only use it with a rinseless wash. I have never tried it with traditional soap and water.
ProsEasy to use, great for applying rinseless washes. Quality construction. Unless you use this thing to wash 20 cars a day, it will probably last for a year or two easily.
By Christopher
Alameda, CA
July 22, 2017
ONR's Best Friend
You might think a sponge is an outdated wash media, but this one was perfectly developed for use with ONR. So long as you use it properly i.e. soak it in ONR for 24 hours before first use and don't use pressure, it'll clean your car beautifully and without scratching. I find the big red sponge glides over paint very well and releases dirt into the bucket extremely well. It is pricey, but it's extremely soft yet also very durable so it's worth it.
ProsSoft Great dirt releasing properties Loves ONR
ConsNone
By Peter
Florida
July 31, 2016
Great for rinseless washing.
Takes getting use to. Works as claimed. Buy it.
ProsDoes not scratch paint. Cleans well.
ConsVery costly for a sponge.

Page 1 of 1