4.9
62 Reviews
5
90% (56)
4
10% (6)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
90% Recommend this product (56 of 62 responses)
By John
Carthage, NC
December 28, 2019
backing plate
Back pad is made great. no problems with the Velcro when taking the pads off plus them sticking well while using them.
Prosgood quality for price
By John
Fayetteville, NC
December 26, 2019
Great Replacement
Bought this as a replacement for one of my older polishers. Great price and seems to be made well.
ProsGood replacement, great price, durable
ConsNone
By Vincent
Cliffside Park, NJ
December 20, 2019
Smaller size better controll
The smaller size 5" gives me better control as opposed to the 6" backing plate.
ProsBetter control as I am a beginner.
ConsNone
By Timmy
Pittsburgh PA
November 17, 2019
Perfect
Exact thing you need for a porter cable 7424. Pads fit perfect on it and stay nice and secure.
By Spencer
Buffalo, NY
October 29, 2019
Nice Backing Plate
I was on the fence between this and one of the self cooling backing plates (like Griot's and others) that should run cooler. But with the Lake Country pads that have the hole in the center for that same purpose I am finding that this runs well with that. I may opt for one of the ones with holes in it to help keep it cooler next time though, not sure how much of a difference that will make. The pads I use only have holes in the center, and not all around like the Americana Global ones. If I were to switch to those, perhaps I would want a plate with the holes in it to line up with those.
Prosnice and square to the mounting post, no wobble
By Rodney
Bennington, NE
June 24, 2019
5” dual action hook & loop flexible backing plate
I purchased this as a replacement to the one that disintegrated after several years of use on my xp7424 This is a great replacement for the xp7424 to be used with the Lakeside foam pads I use. I plan to purchase another as a backup so If it fails I will have one on hand.
ProsGreat price Perfect replacement for the Porter Cable XP 7424.
By Christopher
Gulfport, Mississippi
May 13, 2019
Just as good as the original!
Bought this to replace the one that came with my Porter Cable DA, and it works just as well as the original. Thank you.
By John
Austin tx.
March 21, 2019
Awesome product
You cant go wrong with lake country, there the best when it comes to backplates and buffing pads.
ProsLow cost, strong construction, light weight, flexible, spins nice and straight, handles high speed operation well, minimal vobration.
ConsNone
By Splatterhead
Orlando, Florida
January 18, 2019
Perfect
I bought this to use with my Porter Cable buffer and 6 inch sheepskin hook and loop buffing pads. The hook and loop holds fast and functions perfectly.
By Bruce Mc
Cerritos, Ca
January 12, 2019
Awesome!
As usual another great purchase from auto geek. Thank you very much!
ProsAll pros!
ConsNo cons!
By martin
nj
November 17, 2018
nice backing plate
Very nice plate flat and feels solid. Ordering was nice and fast.
Prosflat
By Steve
Corona, Ca.
October 3, 2018
perfect replacemant
Perfect replacement for my dual action polisher. Already polished my 36 ft. Motorhome.
By ron
columbia,south carolina
July 18, 2018
great product. spins true.
lake country backing pad works great as expected. thanks for fast service, discount and free shipping.
By Jason
Cheektowaga,NY
June 21, 2018
Great Product
I have been using this backing plate now for a few years and use it quite often. It's held up great.
By Best Ever
Chicago
June 21, 2018
Well made
Work just as advertised
By Ty
Torrance, CA
May 30, 2018
Excellent backing plate
I started using it as soon as I received it. I used it for applying polishing compound and also for applying wax with my PC 7424xp electric polisher. It holds all types of pads firmly. Very happy with the purchase.
By GiuliaQV
Greensboro, NC
May 17, 2018
does the job
There's only so much to write in a review for an item like this. The thread is the perfect fit for my porter cable. The yellow foam is yellow. The hook and loops do indeed work and hold the selected pad in place.
By Dan
Minneapolis
May 7, 2018
It was exactly what I needed.
It was exactly what I needed.My last one did not last - this one looks re-inforced.
ProsBetter than the last one
By Gamile R
West palm beach Fl
April 18, 2018
Works great
Well crafted
ProsBalanced, no vibration,secured hook and loop back
ConsNone
By PJ
North Carolina
April 8, 2018
Works Like a Champ
Excellent replacement backing plate for Harbor Freight DA Polisher
By Terry
Chesapeake, Va
December 27, 2017
Works as intended
Works well so far. Only used once for a 8 hr polish marathon.
ProsWorks Fits my machine
By Jim
Lakeland, TN
December 25, 2017
Great Backing Plate
Perfect Backing Plate for my 5.5 in ch pads
By Gerry
Pfafftown, N.C.
December 20, 2017
Fast Delivery
Delivery was fast and the product is just as advertised. Great customer experience.
By David
Santa Ana, CA
December 16, 2017
Great Backing Plate
You can't beat Lake Country for quality and price. I have been using this backing plate since it arrived, and the quality is very good.
ProsQuality Price
By Aaron Kilian
Jupiter, FL
October 6, 2016
flexible backing plate
All ways in use when I wax my vehicle
ProsServers it purpose
ConsNone
By Tim
New Mexico
July 6, 2016
Works like it is supposed to!
I have used it several times on my Porter Cable polisher and so far so good. Seems to be fine.
ProsWorks!
ConsNone noted.
By Rob
CT
June 30, 2016
So glad I made the switch!
I read so much online about converting my GG6 from the original 6" backing plate to the smaller 5" backing plate. I finally bit the bullet and ordered this along with a set of LC 5.5" pads, and man what a difference! My DA is so much easier to control now, it works faster, fits into more nooks and crannies, etc. It's just a total win win all around.
ProsVery high quality and flexible, extremely easy to install
Consnone
By Martin
New York
June 13, 2016
Backing plate
Have used this on four cars now, my old on was flexible but had become worn enough to replace. Glad I did .Make sure to mark a line on the back to keep tabs on rotational speed.
ProsVery flexible hook and loop is strong.
ConsNone
By Jungled
Davie, Fl
May 29, 2016
Great product at a great price
Needed a replacement backing plate for my Porter Cable polisher and this fits perfect. Have already used on my Honda, wife's Volvo and a very good friends Escape. All 3 now look fabulous.
By Mike
Tampa, Fl.
May 16, 2016
Good Product
I attached this to my Harbor Freight DA polisher and what a difference. I noticed it did not generate as much heat as the backing plate that came with the polisher.
By Exequiel
Córdoba, Argentina
May 12, 2016
A must have for your DA polisher
Excellent quality, very durable.
By Angel
Youngstown, OH
April 21, 2016
Great product
It work perfectly and I have no problems with it
By Frederic Lodenquai
Miami, Florida
April 11, 2016
Great
Great product, replacing previous one
By Don
jersey sshore
April 11, 2016
backing plate
solid product good price
By Mistah Vega
Gainesville, GA
February 15, 2016
Great backing plate
Great backing plate, will buy more of this brand in different sizes
ConsNone
By Robert
Metro Manila - Muntinlupa City
June 18, 2015
very nice
Fits perfectly on my DA polisher. Got my package sealed and in perfect condition.
By Ron
Parlin, New Jersey
April 24, 2015
This is what replaced my 6" backing plate.
I am very pleased with this product. This is the backing plate that replaced the 6" plate on my DA Buffer and so far it has worked out great.
ProsFirst rate item in quality and function.
ConsNONE
By Chris
Vancouver, British Columbia
March 16, 2015
Good Combination
This 5" backing plate is a good fit for the 5.5" polishing pads I also purchased.
By Clay
Westminster, MA
February 1, 2015
very satisfied
Very good quality, decent price and quick shipping. Need I say more?
By Bruce
Phoenix, AZ
January 21, 2015
Great Backing Plate
A backing plate done right. Sturdy nicely made does the job well.
ConsNone
By Rick Manning
Nokomis, Fl
January 6, 2015
Describes item......easy site search
Excellent product, fast delivery. Including delivery the cost is somewhat higher, I accept this because of the easy of order online.
By Roy Luna
Keene tx
December 18, 2014
Works with harbor fr da polisher
Works great for replacing the 6in to 5in backing plate
By Greg
United States
November 19, 2014
Worked as described
Fit was great..Worked as described..
ProsHeld pad without movement
By cheryl farny
conroe tx
October 12, 2014
send more information
exlant product for my application.
By Franklin Field
Lancaster Cointy PA
October 8, 2014
Outstanding Dual-Action backing plate ....
Bought for my Porta Cable Dual-Action polisher .... installed quickly and did everything as advertised and more .... the flexible backing moved with the contours of the car ... would recommend as a replacement item
ProsFlexable and goes with the foie
By rcw
Asheboro, NC
September 30, 2014
Just what I needed.....
Had several pads from Harbor Frieght, but no backing plate....works great. I'll try your pads when these give out
By ARP
Tucson, Arizona
August 19, 2014
Great replacement for HF pad
I went the budget route on my DA and purchased an HF dual action. The backing pad on the HF is cheap and generates a lot of heat transfer to the foam pad. This caused problems with the hook/loop material on the foam pad separating. This backing plate is like night and day compared to the cheap HF backing pad. Virtually no heat at all and I am able to run the tool as long as I want without having to stop to allow the backing pad to cool. This is a no-brainer upgrade considering the savings on the DA from HF.
ProsGreat quality and runs cool. Well balanced
By bernard
montreal
August 15, 2014
Top Quality
Performed well no issues
Proswell made
Consnone
By Serge
st colomban, Quebec
August 14, 2014
fine
>Works fine with all pads
By Glenn
Dacula, Georgia
August 9, 2014
Excellent
It' works fantastic.
By Gross
Annapolis, Maryland
July 25, 2014
Works perfectly
No problems... works as it should.
ProsEasy to use. Works as advertised. Many pads will fit.
ConsNo cons.
By Bilal
Woodstock, Georgia
June 19, 2014
DA Polisher Flexible Backing Plate
I operate a Mobile Auto & Boat Dwetailing Service as well Residential & Commercial Pressure Washing Service in Woodstock, Georgia and this site is helping me out tremendously as well as the helpful information by Mike Phillips on Auto Geek's website. Thus far this item is of very good quality, the delivery time was good and I'm very satisfied.
ProsQuality, it doesn't absorb so much heat so that it literally melts in the center as the poor quality one that came with my new DA Polisher.
ConsNo cons as of yet.
By Frank
Huntersville NC
May 21, 2014
My job made easy
This is just what I needed for my porter cable 7424 xp
By Gary
SE Michigan
May 9, 2014
Essential item
This 5" backing plate is essential and superior for use with the 6" pads on a RA polisher. The smaller size prevents the plate from touching the paint surface like the 6" plate that came with the polisher. I would highly recommend this.
By Terry
Climax MI
May 4, 2014
Have not used it yet but the pad looks great
Haven't used it yet but according to the forum this the correct hook and loop to use
By Jim
Louisville
April 30, 2014
Great product
This is a great product for a great price. This is my second one. The first one lasted 11 years!
By Moxie
May 24, 2013
Does the Job
Got this with my new pads for my DA polisher, held the foam pads and gave no troubles, the velcro is very nice on it.
By Jaytin
August 29, 2012
Great backing plate
Had it for quite a few years and no signs of any significant wear.
By JRivers
August 31, 2011
Great BP
Simple, strong, reliable...Quality Velcro...it works, not much to say about it.
By Jason
August 9, 2011
good product
I have used it on probably 15 buffing jobs and the velcro backing is finally starting to peel off. Its a pretty good product overall though and I have put it thru a lot of abuse.
By Wolfpacker92
May 27, 2007
Great product
Great backing plate. As soon as you pick it up you can tell that it is heavy duty construction. Should give me years of service.
By Matt
March 19, 2006
well made
backing plate is heavy duty, quality construction and perfectly balanced.used this backing plate for 2.5 years without one problem

Page 1 of 1