4.8
18 Reviews
5
83% (15)
4
17% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (18 of 18 responses)
By PAUL
Bellingham, WA
January 1, 2020
Best Deal
I'm new to machine buffing so did a lot of research. I found that the Griot"s G9 was the best for my specific application. The Combo gave me everything necessary to start improving my technique.
ProsSize, weight, adaptability to the Corvette's articulated body sections.
ConsNone that I am aware.
By Jay
Bridgeport, WV
December 26, 2019
Great value
As a first time da user this thing was easy to use. Not to heavy so once I was done my didn't hurt. Would recommend this kit to anyone.
By Justin
Newport News, Virginia
September 29, 2019
The best starter orbital
Hands down the best machine I have owned. Good power and quality product. Still going strong after years of use. Not as much correction power as a newer long throw orbital, but it can get the job done. Can also be used with Griot's 6", 5", and 3" backing plates.
ProsQuality Versatility Ease of use Effective
ConsNone
By Paul
New Smyrna Bch, FL
May 13, 2019
Handy Buffer
Great Buffer for the Price. I'm not a professional by any stretch of the imagination, but this buffer works great. No swirl marks and it did it's job!
ProsPrice. And the handle works as a wrap around your hand as well when doing areas with one hand. You can fit your hand under the handle and hold the buffer.
ConsNone yet
By Dennis
Morristown, Tennessee
February 20, 2019
Buffer
Great buffer and you can change to a 5 inch for smaller areas
ProsTwo buffers in one buffer
By ORU12
Texas
December 23, 2018
Worth It
Just being a weekend car guy I wanted something better than the Black and Decker DA I had and liked the lifetime warranty. However, I was very happy with the purchase. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a true DA and not very noisy. Having pads attach via hook and loop is an improvement. The unit is constructed very well and ships with extra brushes so Griots isn’t cutting corners. It doesn’t pitch or roll around, it stays stable giving you more control and precision. It’s plenty powerful - only 50 watts less than the Boss versions. It was a good purchase.
ProsStable Powerful Well built Part of a very good expanded system of Griots pads, adapters and accessories Easy to control Lifetime warranty
By Patrick
Monroe, GA 30656
December 19, 2018
Great tool
I really stepped up my game with this tool. Very easy to use. It makes the hard part of having a great looking finish easy.
ProsSmooth operation, very comfortable handle
ConsWish it had a spindle lock button that would eliminate the need for tools to change the pad size.
By Jimmy
Chicago il
October 21, 2018
Descent tool for the money.
I didn't get the extra long cord, I have extension cords for that. The polisher is nice, and does a pretty good job for what it is. Before the Griots garage 6 inch orbital polisher I had a $500 rupes, to compare it to. You get what you pay for. I was hoping it would be lighter that the rupes, but while using them there's not too much difference in weight. It does the job, and I don't regret buying it, I just wish it was a little more powerful and or lighter.
Pros#1 Bang for the buck!!!!
ConsNot a high dollar unit. There?s no trigger to turn it on and off. Could use more power or a diet. Plastic feels cheap.
By Jeff
Houston, TX
September 14, 2018
Very Pleased - 1st Random Orbital Polisher
I am very happy with this kit. I chose the HD polisher with the 25' cord, and with all the pads and other items, I feel I got great value. Was able to use it for the first time two weeks ago to clay my car, and I am amazed at how easy it was to do. For claying, I used a Griot's 6" Surface Prep Pad with Griot's Speed Shine. Made my paint feel oh so smooth. Then I used Opti-Coat HyperSeal to finish.
ProsComprehensive kit, Easy to use, makes detailing fun.
ConsLower price now.
By Yolo
Cleveland.
September 13, 2018
Excited.
Purchased on sale and with a discount so I got the kit for an unbelievable price at the time. Received it sooner than I had planned which was a nice gesture as well. Opened he kit and checked its contents and noticed that I was supposed to get two microfiber pads but only got one. Shot an email to AGN and they quickly reaponded and sent the second and third microfiber pad out. I wasn’t looking for that but they more than fulfilled my order. I haven’t had a chance to use it yet but looking forward to it as all the previous reviews I’ve read speak highly of the polisher.
ProsGreat service.
By Kevin Finch
Fredericksburg
May 5, 2018
Great product at a great price
I just finished polishing a 22 year old truck with original paint. It hasn't looked this good since my kids started driving it 6 years ago. It saved me a lot of elbow grease.
ProsEasy to use
By wayne sheats
pinehurst, nc
February 9, 2018
car buffers
i have always done my cars by hand and i was quite hesitant to go to any buffer....i was always afraid of burning the paint... but......omg.......i can not believe the ease of using and the results knocked my socks off....the instruction videos were so helpful... our cars definitely look like they were done by a professional
Prosincredible ease of use
Consabsolutely none
By Keith
Okemos , Michigan
December 24, 2017
A Good Purchase
This isn't my first purchase from AG but it is the first polisher I have ever owned . I did tons of research on-line and for a beginner this looked like the one for me . This is the third generation of this polisher so that told me that it must be a good one . No more hand polishing or waxing . This is just for my daily driver ( GMC Denali ) and my wife's car ( Cadillac XT5 ) , what some may call a weekend warrior that enjoy's driving detailed vehicles . It was easy to purchase on-line and received it in just a few days . I'm very satisfied with the experience . Auto Geek is a great website to learn how to do it yourself and they have the products that you need . And no I was not compensated for this review .
ProsAn easy ordering process and great products .
Consnone
By Santos Torres
San Juan, TX
November 16, 2016
Works well especially for the price.
Does a wonderful on flat surfaces but stop spinning on uneven surfaces . Still I would highly recommend this product
By Tydefan
Troy, Illinois
August 7, 2016
Very Pleased
The Griot's Garage machine is a good weight, is not really noisy, and very effective. I have used it to remove imperfections and to apply the wax, and I am very pleased. I am using it on my Harley Road Glide Ultra and opted for the 6 inch so I can also use it on my cars. Furthermore, I have recommended Autogeek to several others based on the selection and quality of this product.
ProsGood Weight, Not Really Noisy
By ReggD
Woodland Park, NJ
July 21, 2016
First Time Using a Orbital
Great experience... It was very easy to use and the results were great. I got rid of all scratches and my paint is very glossy and smooth after claying, compounding (a couple of areas), polishing, sealing and waxing.
ProsEasy to use Effective Saves time
By John
New England
July 5, 2016
Griot's Random Orbital Polisher/Buffer -- Effective for Polishing Cars
I've used this just twice on a very large car, both for polishing and then for waxing. I have the model with the 25' cord, which is well worth the added cost. Although this machine is solid and not light weight, it is easy to use and control. It is safe to use. I am using 6 inch pads on a 5 inch wheel, and that gives a protective cushion at the edges when working on surfaces that are not flat. So far I'm very happy with this product.
By Robert Scott
Syracuse
May 23, 2016
Quality products, great price and fast service
So far all is good. High quality and built to last.
ProsMore powerful than most random orbital polishers
ConsWhen you apply a little pressure the polisher doesn't spin as fast. Maybe this is a safety feature that prevents burn but seems a bit too sensitive. Unlike my Harbor Freight rotary polisher though there is no "electrical smell/over heating" when done.

Page 1 of 1