We will meet or beat anyone's pricing, shipping or promo!

4.7
17 Reviews
5
71% (12)
4
29% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
71% Recommend this product (12 of 17 responses)
By Stephen
Portland, OR
Works but sticks to everything
December 8, 2020
This clay works but its very sticky so I had to use a lot of lubrication. Its kind of a hassle sometimes because it would stick to dry spots on my hands or gloves. When it sticks, it leaves a little bit behind so I have to take time to rub it off.
By PAUL
Bellingham, WA
Easy Cleaning
October 12, 2020
Great clay product for cleaning contaminants from paint surfaces. This is large enough to only use half at a time. Molds easily and stays in your hand.
ProsEconomical as it is easily divided in half.
ConsNone to which I am aware.
By tony
ventura county, CA
Awesom clay bar
September 14, 2020
I have used this griots garage clay bar for a few years now and it doesnt disapoint. Its not the most aggresive but it definitely takes out some of your more stubborn contamination on your car. One of these containers last me soo long. you cant beat it for the price
By Brian
, Monroe, MI
First Time User
April 30, 2020
I really see the difference since I used the clay on my car. It looks alot better
ProsDidn't take to long
ConsNeeds slot of lube
By James
,
Great clay for the price
July 21, 2019
I've tried quite a few different clays, and this is still my go to. Overall its a great clay, and for its price vs weight it is one of the most economical choices out there. Great product.
By Thomas
Lansing,Michigan
Best clay available
May 13, 2019
I have used this since (early 2000's) I cut the bar in four pieces and spray Speed Shine liberally (flooding) my hand car and bar continually as contaminants are removed. This prevents the clay from hanging up on your paint and possibly falling to the ground rendering it useless if it picks up any sand or soil. I use this every year on two vehicles.I'm not remotely interested in any other product. Not sure about a review saying there was an issue of it becoming too soft.( high temperature/user error/wrong lubricant ) Who knows.
ProsContaminants easy to see because of the yellow color. Bar+Speed Shine is a fairly quick project depending on condition of paint. Fantastic results.
ConsOnly does two vehicles per 8oz.(my way)
By Infiniti
Cleveland, OH (44125)
Nice large size
July 6, 2018
I have not used this particular clay as of yet. I gave it five stars because of its large size as compared to other clay bars.
By Javier D.
Texas
Griots garage paint cleaning clay
February 10, 2018
This clay bar works very well with using the speed and shine with the clay bar.
ProsGood clay bar when used properly, makes your day go easier
By ScottH
NJ
For passing the "baggy" test with flying colors
December 17, 2017
I've been using Griot's clay for some time and find it a true value in the world of clay bars. For the price of admission, you get 8 ounces of clay - which is a decent value when you consider you do not need much to effectively clay bar a vehicle. When used properly it is a effective first step to acing the "baggy" test.
Pros- Sticky, but that's part of it's appeal - it picks up and grabs everything it comes into contact with - The yellow color offers good visual evidence of what you removed from the paint - Leaves the paint very smooth, and should be considered a prerequisite prior to paint correction - Container is air tight allowing for storage of the clay without fear of drying out. For hobbyist detailers, one container could conceivable last you several years.
Cons- I find it's stickiness calls for more detail lubrication than other clay bars. Not a big deal really, because there are so many effective lubricants can be waterless/rinseless solutions you mix up yourself with concentrate solutions. - Wear gloves when using. Feels like Play Dough in warm, humid conditions - and will stick to your hands. Does not harm, and easily prevented with gloves.
By Daver
Akron, OH
An Easier to Use Clay than Most
December 12, 2014
I've been claying my cars for more than 10 years. Best detailing secret I ever learned! But I've found that many clays that I have tried including those from Adams, Detailer's Domain [two different recipes], and Mother's are generally much harder and harder to knead and use than Griott's Garage yellow clay. Until I tried several others, I did not realize the significant differences among them. The clays from Adams and Detailer's Domain were so hard, even after pre-warming them in hot water, that I had very sore forearm muscles for a few days after struggling to use them. [They might be good products for body builders wanting to increase their grip muscles!] The Griott's clay is stickier than the others, too. And the yellow color makes it very easy to see the contaminants that are removed from painted panels or painted wheels.
ProsEasy to knead and use, easy to see contaminants that are removed. Price is reasonable compared to competition. Screw-on lid storage container and sealed plastic film packaging within keeps new clay fresh and soft. I have a used remnant of a several years old bar that I keep in its original container and it is still soft. Not so with the competition.
ConsSticky enough that use with thin rubber gloves is advised. Otherwise, some of the clay is likely to transfer to your skin.
By Moose
Georgia
Good Paint clay
August 10, 2014
I love this clay. My second batch I've ordered. Glides well, picks up a lot, easy to kneed.
ProsWorks well on general paint cleaning. Haven't had to use it on the hard to get clean things though. Have nanoskin for that.
ConsNone
By John
La Jolla, CA
Use this clay when you wash your car, not just for waxing.
June 23, 2014
I've used this clay many times. I use it whenever I wash my Porsche, not just when I wax it. After I wash the car, I don't dry it. I use the clay over the water standing on the surface of the paint. It works fine without the lubricant, unless the paint is dry. After going over the paint with the clay, I dry the surface with Costco yellow rags. I fined that one bar lasts for dozens of uses.
By Andrew B.
Light Duty
August 23, 2013
This clay is a very good light duty clay for less contaminated paintwork. It is an excellent clay.
By heathtx
Mild Clay
November 18, 2011
This clay is mild, will do a good job if your car is new or has beenclayed before. I tried it on my newer cars and it did great. I used it on my 2005 car and it was not aggressive enough. Even with extra pressure it would not fully clean. I like the Speed Shine.
By embolism
great for cold weather details
November 10, 2011
stays nice and pliable in colder weather 45F and was a pleasure to use.
By GR J.
A Good, Mild Clay
October 9, 2011
This is a very good clay for light duty use. It is extremely safe and exhibits very little drag. It does not scratch or mar the surface. This is perfect for cleaning well-maintained paint. If you have some heavy tar or other contaminants to deal with, you will probably need something more aggressive.
By JMK
GOOD STUFF
April 21, 2010
I USED THE GRIOTS PAINT CLEANING CLAY WITH THE SPEED SHINE AND IT WORKED GREAT. I WAS A LITTLE APPREHENSIVE AT FIRST, BECAUSE I HAD NEVER USED CLAY. MY FIRST "GUINEA PIG" WAS MY DAUGHTERS SUV ( I WAS NOT GOING TO LEARN ON MY VETTE). IT WORKED SO WELL AND WAS SO EASY THAT MY COVER IS COMING OFF THE VETTE THIS WEEKEND, AND IT'S GETTING THE FULL TREATMENT. I DID THE HOOD ON THE SUV WITH BEST OF SHOW WAX, AND IT LOOKED BETTER THAN WHEN IT WAS LEAVING THE SHOWROOM. MY DAUGHTER WILL HAVE TO BUY HER OWN TO DO THE REST OF HER CAR, AND I'M SURE SHE WILL AFTER SEEING WHAT A LITTLE BIT LOOKED LIKE.

Page 1 of 1