We will meet or beat anyone's pricing, shipping or promo!

5.0
70 Reviews
5
97% (68)
4
3% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
51% Recommend this product (36 of 70 responses)
By RON
KERSEY, PA
Great Product
September 14, 2020
I have a black 2017 Corvette Grand Sport, used the Flex XC3401 & Flex 4-3/8 backing pad with Lake Country FR-HWHITE 5.5 pads & Blackfire One Step BF900. Set Flex at 5 made 8 to 12 passes, changing pads after each panel. Then followed up with 2 coats of Pinnacle Natural Brilliance Souveran (2nd coat applied 24 hours after first coat). This is the BEST results I have had over the years and I have used many different combinations of compounds, pads and tools. Will use these products and process next on a Red 08 Z06 & 02 Black Vette convertible. Highly recommend all of the above products.
By Patrick
San Luis Obispo, CA
THE BEST IN THE GAME
July 4, 2020
I've had the 3401 since it first came to the market and it is the best polisher money can buy. I've detailed hundreds of cars with mine and it has never skipped a beat. I've detailed multiple cars in a day giving this very little time to rest and it keeps going even when it's extremely hot. I couldn't kill it if I tried but that is a testament to how well built this polisher is. I've had to replace half a dozen backing plates from all the use it gets but its a workhorse and always leaves every car with amazing results. You get what you pay for and it's worth every penny. After your first polish, you'll kick yourself for not buying one sooner.
By Tim
Ottawa, IL
Best purchase for boaters
May 20, 2020
This polisher is exactly what I needed To remove oxidation from my boat. This polisher was able to remove oxidation that my previous DA was not able to take off.
By karl
topanga, CA
Wonderful machine
April 23, 2020
I started detailing my own cars about 3 years ago. I have been using a Torq 10fx since then and it is a great starter DA. As one of my cars is a newer black Audi with hard clear coat, it became more difficult to keep it in pristine condition. I researched a while looking for a more rigorous DA. The Beast kept popping up to the top of the list and when autogeek offered one of their great sales I bought The Beast with a variety of pads. I used it just yesterday to correct my daughters dark gray A3 with many swirls and typical scratches. Using 3D Speed and The Beast yielded a beautiful result. While I was a little worried about the power and different rotation of The Beast, I learned that if you just let it work the way that feels natural to it, it just dances across the work. If you are fighting it, you are doing it wrong. It is sheer power and well balanced. Very little effort! I do still use the 10fx with a 3" pad for smaller areas. Heck, who wouldn't want 2 DAs: The Beast for all the heavy lifting and the 10fx for the smaller areas. Can't wait to try on the black Audi next.
ProsPowerful and well balanced Easy to use Great how to use videos on autogeek
ConsWhile a bit pricey, if you are looking for a powerful DA, it is worth it.
By Steve
New Holland, PA
Nice machine
October 4, 2019
A highly refined machine that will last for years. The neat thing is that this thing is made to be repaired. It's pricey up front, but it lasts for years even with daily use. Every year or so, the brushes might need to be replaced in the motor, but that's cheap. Maybe $20 or so. Other components are also replaceable. Just check ereplacementparts.com or other parts website.
ProsTough, easy to replace worn parts
By Danny
Utah
Excelente
January 30, 2019
Great machine
By Archer
Savannah, GA
Effective and high quality.
December 25, 2018
Purchased the Flex 3401 as a step up from my Griot's Garage 6 inch RO, and it is in terms of power. The Flex quickly removed defects (severe water hard water spots that accumulated over many years on a relative's Jaguar S-Type - the black paint was covered in a thick brown haze of water spots with embedded iron staining from terrible well water) that the GG RO was slowly wearing down. I will continue to use the GG RO to spread wax and light polishing, but the Flex will be my first choice for significant correction and polishing. I did not go to a long throw RO like the Rupes 21 or GG Boss 21, because I do not want to have excessive travel when working at the edge of a surface or in tighter spots. Also, I like how the Flex easily deals with very curved surfaces - no loss of rotation and continues to polish the bottom and sides of a convex curve.
ProsPowerful, well built, effective
ConsDue to the forced rotation, it can provide a fair amount of resistance to movement across the surface if the unit is not held at the correct angle.
By george s.
23832
flex 3401
December 15, 2018
Been buffing cars for 30yrs. with a rotary buffer. Now I can slow down and don't have to worry about burning thru. Have done great work in the past with a rotary but the new flex 3401 just took it to a higher level no swirls out in the sun great product wish I had got one sooner. if you try it you will be hooked .
By Mike
Decatur Illinois
Flex polisher
October 25, 2018
I owned porter cable 7424 xp which worked well for general waxing and polishing. Was having trouble getting swirl marks out decided to try the flex. It worked great, I use pinnacle swirl remover and flex polisher followed the video that came with the polisher and was able to remove the swirl marks. Very pleased with performance and like that there is not as much vibration when using. It is expensive for someone who is not a detailer but it does produce results. I just use it on my personal vehicles but happy I purchased.
ProsRemoves swirls and less vibration
ConsPrice a little high for average owner but if it holds up for a long period of time then price is worth it. Just purchased oct 2018 so we will see
By Tom B.
Ca
Flex
March 7, 2018
Outstanding product.
ProsEasy to use. Quickly removes problem areas.
ConsA bit pricey, but worth the investment
By Brian
Ohio
Great Product
June 28, 2017
If you're looking for a GREAT product this is it. A true workhorse. I've been polishing cars for over 30 years. The Flex combined with Meguires 105 cutting and 205 for polishing using Lake County pads (Yellow and Red and Gold to wax) gives you a FLAWLESS glow under fluorescent light. Take your time with the cutting pad till every micro scratch is gone then polish with 205 and then wax.
By Pat
California
Awesome Polisher
April 6, 2017
Im a female user of this polisher. I was concerned that it might be too heavy. It is not! Yay. You can tell when you use it that it is well made and I like the velcro pad attachment. Im so jazzed about using it Im doing my motorhome car and truck. The finish is mirror like and it was so exciting to see the results. I hated waxing my car before now I look forward to it.
ProsEasy to handle. adjustable speed, detachable pads via velcro. Does a great job.
ConsPrice of unit and pads. I invested about 450.00 in both. Ouch!
By Gary
Dickson, Tn.
One Is Good, Two Are Better
December 31, 2016
I have used my Flex 3401 around two years. I like it so much I ordered another one so when I am working in one spot, on a vehicle, I can have two on my cart with different pads and products, covering two steps before moving to the next panel. Flex tools are the finest I have ever owned. The engineering and quality construction are amazing. I own eight polishers and the Flex are the ones I reach for first.
ProsExcellent!
ConsNone
By Patrick
Houston
Flex 3401
October 20, 2016
I am not a pro however I have been using it on classic cars to restore the paint. I enjoy working with it.
ProsGood weight, quality build, acceptable noise levels and good ergonomics.
Cons
By Kerry
Wellborn, Fla
Should have purchased long ago-
July 22, 2016
Seems very well made. Makes my buffing job easier with better results. I've read some complaints about the reverse rotation but I have no issues picking it right up even though my rotary buffer is opposite rotation then the flex 3401.
ProsGreat handling machine. Very well made.
ConsWish I'd gotten the HD model with longer cord.
By Rich
Medford, MA
An Animal
July 18, 2016
After receiving it I could understand the price this unit is well made. I've been detailing cars for 40 years and made the switch to my first orbital an early Griots PC 15 yrs ago, which I love (still going strong) but felt it could use more power for heavy scratch or swirl removal. I still think the PC is a great unit for the novice or DIY its light, manageable with one hand, (hated the switch location but learned to live with it). When I tried the Flex its like night and day, its an animal and sounds like it with those metal gears, its very ergonomic. I usually use the Flex for all my compounding, polishing, swirl removal and severe scratches and save the PC for light delicate scratch removal, sealant and wax application.
Proswell made very ergonomic and easy to handle
Consnoisy
By Ron
Spring, Texas
Best DA orbital I've ever used
June 4, 2016
This is my second unit. My first lasted almost 8 years. This time around I opted for the professional with the 25' cord.
ProsGear driven. It delivers as much power as you need to get the job done.
By Chris G.
Huntsville , Alabama
Simply the best dual action polisher!
May 9, 2016
I love this polisher! This is the only dual action polisher that will power through defects like a rotary but much safer than a rotary. The ergonomics, power, quality & ease of use makes this my favorite polisher I own. Get the 4" Lake Country backing plate along with Lake Country 5" & 6.5" Hybrid pads & then you'll have everything you'll ever need for that show car finish!
ProsSimply the best! Fit, finish, power & quality!
ConsNone!
By Steve C.
Chicago, Illinois
Flex
April 27, 2016
Great product. Auto Geeks is lowest price around
By Ted J.
Oslo, Norway
Built like a tank!
February 5, 2016
So, I've been using my Flex 3401 for 4 years now - probably on my 350th+ full detail. I've run over it with several cars, I've dropped it countless times, even sprayed it good with a aerosol can of electrical cleaner to get some "gunk" out of the vents. As I picked it up to place it on my cart to let the cleaner evaporate, I managed to hit the power button and a spark from the brushes ignited the whole thing. It had crazy flames coming out of it for probably 5 seconds before I managed to extinguish it. That was a year ago. Still going like new - swapped probably 10 backing plates, and brushes four or five times. I got the 21mm and 15mm Rupes, but keep coming back to my sweet "keep on spinnin'!" :)
Pros- Built like a Tiger tank - Forced rotation, just keeps on spinning! - No issue working -all- areas, even sharp bends, kinks and all curved panels
Cons- On huge flat panels a large throw DA like Rupes 21 can be more effective
By Roger
Cleveland area
A "MUST HAVE" TOOL
July 3, 2015
An excellent polisher that easy to use with all the power needed to get outstanding results. My Makita works well also but I get less splatter and can work safer using the Flex. An orange pad with the Pinnacle compounds get my cars ready for a couple coats of Fuzion wax for absolutely WOW FACTOR results for late spring till late fall and then Klasse Sealant for durability for the winter months.
Pros1. Safer to use 2. Less splatter using the orbital 3. Love the longer 25 ft. cord on the HD Model 4.Smooth and quiet operation
ConsPricey but it's well built.
By Dick T.
Richmond, RI
Love My Flex 3401
May 1, 2015
I had been using a Meguiar's G110V2 and it works well but after using my 3401 for the first time I will give my G110V2 to my son. It took a little getting used to, about half a doors worth of polishing, so I was controlling it instead of the other way around. But once I was used to it I found I could work faster to achieve the same results.
ProsWell made Plenty of Power
ConsNone I can see
By Dave T.
Arlington Tx
Glad I upgraded
February 19, 2015
I used a PC for a couple years, wasn't real happy with the power after a couple months. This machine has plenty of power and is a very well built machine.It definitely is a time saver. The forced rotation is the way to go!!!
ProsPower, forced rotation, time saving, if I ever decide to sell it I can recover most of my money.
ConsNone
By David
Hudson, New Hampshire
Quality polisher
November 14, 2014
This machine gave excellent results with very little effort and with less time than a rotary buffer
ProsSaves time
Consnone
By Harold
FL
Nice Polisher
November 2, 2014
Works great for all task never misses a beat direct drive keeps thing rolling alon.
ProsNice for doing anything you want to do Direct drive is the way to go. Don't buy cheap polishers buy the best your wasting your money on the cheap junk.
ConsNo storage bag comes with the unit sadly after spending good money for the unit. I believe the company outta send me one. I would recommend the product tho but make them throw in a free bag.
By John
South Coast, CA
Does better job faster than PC 7424
October 14, 2014
Used the Porter Cable unit for 7-8 years and was perfectly happy until friend told me about Flex. I used same orange pad and same Menzerna 106FF and got fabulous results quicker. Flex is stronger unit and therefore not as easy to control as PC so glad I had the experience of the PC unit, not that you couldn't learn the Flex in one or two outings.
ProsEase of results, well built.
ConsPay attention and don't lose control.
By Jax
Chicagoland
Great machine
September 10, 2014
Well worth the money....great for swirl removal! Cut my buffing time down by 2/3... I have 3 buffers before purchasing the Flex and I would only recommend this machine period!
ProsDoes not stop spinning as you apply pressure
ConsNon!
By Stephen P.
Bangkok
Flex 3401 DA Orbital Polisher
August 30, 2014
My experience with car bodywork upkeep is very limited. With some research and advice I selected this excellent machine and have used it with Meguiars products to get my car back looking the way it should. I own a black 2014 Cayenne which was abused by some totally unprofessional body shop workers when it went in for a small dent repair. They had used a rotary machine of some sort with some nasty polish and the 3 month old car looked like it was 10 years old, even paint spray on some panels on the opposite side of the car to the dented back panel. The Flex DA with Meguiars Ultimate Compound on Lake Country pads made easy work getting all noticeable swirls out (adopting techniques illustrated by Mike Philllips) and overspray off. Now the car looks new again, I am a very satisfied customer.
ConsIt's so good you may want to play with it too much !.
By Karl
Sugar Land, Tx
flex 3401
August 29, 2014
Fantastic polisher. Put that blue foam pad on and polished those scratches right out of there. The 8mm throw is just right for this machine. This polisher and a 3 inch rupes is all I need to make me happy.
ProsFast removal of scratches.
ConsNone
By Bill
TN
Gear driven head, best quality
June 19, 2014
If you are looking for the best in an orbital buffer, this should be on your short list. Everything from the cord, head, body, are top notch. Action is smooth, it's quiet, and doesn't get hot even on low settings. Very nice product
ProsEverything
ConsPrice?
By Charles
Honolulu, Hawaii
Great Polisher
June 1, 2014
Used on my new ashen grey Camario with a Meguire's soft buff foam polishing pad with Meguire's 205 polish and Chemical Guy's 5.5 in. hex logic finishing pad with NXT Tech wax 2.0. First I used Meguire's 205, one medium fast pass using my Flex 3401 then I used hex logic finishing pad with my Flex 3401. I did not let the car lot to detail it. I wanted to do it myself. Though my paint was smooth, I had water spots that did not want to come off. I researched all the products I bought. These were the best products to remove it safely. All spots are gone, polished to shine and waxed for protection. Keep in mind my Flex 3401's speed was no higher then 3. My Flex Dual Action Orbital Polisher 3401 is a great product and highly recommended. Autogeek shipped my Flex 3401 quickly and is a great business to work with. They included the Mike Phillips' book and dvd and it was a very helpful guide with great info.
ProsEasy to use if you watch the dvd and read the book. Of course, if you're experienced it should be an amazing product for you (Flex DA 3401 polisher)
ConsNone
By Joseph
Geneva, IL
Was hesitant but glad I made the purchase
May 18, 2014
The reviews were stellar but I already had a Porter Cable orbiter. Also, the price....$350!!!!! That's a lot of cash. Long story short, I pulled the trigger and made the purchase, The Flex is night and day compared to the PC. It worked wonders on my 2007 black Mustang. The direct drive mechanism is what sets this unit apart in my opinion. If you're on the fence like me, jump off and make the purchase!
By Charlie
Charlotte, NC
Good middle of the road polishing action
May 4, 2014
I own and operate a body shop and bought this polisher to use as a second step polisher after the heavy cut is done by the rotary polisher. As for using it as a buffing tool to remover orange peel or after dirt nibbling you can forget this polisher I cannot do it in a timely fashion. But i had decent results using it as a swirl remover or a glaze polisher. If you plan on using this as your only polisher if you are a professional your making a bad decision, but if you want to add a tool to your polishing line up it is a good middle of the road polisher for light polishing or maintaince polishing. I just hope it holds out because you have to run the speed very high to get a good result in a timely manner. Very happy with purchasing from auto geek. Well package and very fast shipping at the right prices and stock all accessories for this machine.
By Cesar
Taylor Texas
Best DA machine out there!!
April 27, 2014
Having worked for a while with the rotary machine, I didn't expect this one to be so good!!!! it is very powerful and it really works!!! actually I can forget about rotary machines now. It is extremely easy to work on wet sanding and to work on scratches and it really feels sturdy.
ProsLightweight, sturdy, fast, easy on hands, perfect for wet sanding, durable, reliable, affordable.
ConsNone
By Craig
Wyoming
Great tool
April 16, 2014
I have been using a porter cable d.a. polisher until I got the flex 3401. I realize what I have been missing. Easy to use, and great results. The forced rotation gives you an advantage over other d.a. polishers. Better results in less time.
By peter h.
United States
The definitive DA Polisher
February 21, 2014
Not long after this Flex 3401 arrived I realized to my horror that this electric appliance would probably outlive me, and I am still years from retirement. It works so fast, that the waxing of the car is kind of an anti-climax. To justify it I think you have to be younger than I am and have at least two good cars that you like to take care of (i.e. wax at least three times a year each). My thinking was: Do I want to pay $130 for a tool worth $60 (but still very effective) made in a factory in China, or do I want to pay $350 for a $350 machine? I went this way. I can see most people going the other. This is unquestionably a pro tool.
ProsLike bringing a machine gun to a bar fight. Durable. Reliable. Powerful. If you use this as intended, your cars will look wonderful. Saves time. This means in practice that your car stays waxed all the time. Your probably get all your money and then some back at trade-in time.
ConsExpensive--but not overpriced. More tool than most amateurs need.
By Rex H.
Flex XC3401 VRG
October 8, 2013
A true workhorse! This light weight, dual action polisher easily powers through paint flaws to provide a professional finish! I only wish the HD option was available when I bought mine. The longer cord would eliminate the need for an extension cord.
By Vince
Flex XC3401
August 4, 2013
EASY to use machine even for a novice. I have a good deal of common sense but let me stress I am no super duper natural at all things mechanical (in fact I'm normally intimidated by such things). That said, I started at low speeds to get used to how this machine handles and within 10 minutes was buffing at speeds 4 to 5 as the machine has a scale of 1 to 6. Turns out the machine was the easiest to learn. It's the polishes and how quickly they break down as well as how much to use that was the learning curve for me. Please note there is no damage done even while learning. You simply go over the area again until it's right. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO BUY THIS MACHINE...it's is awesome and my first time out made my car look like incredible using Menzerna products which are user friendly to a novice since they have a long work time before they breakdown and dry out. I thought I was taking a chance by buying the Flex over the PC as I thought it might be too powerful. It is powerful in that the machine is capable of serious correction but it is so safe to use. For uneven surfaces, slow it down and tilt the pad as needed. If you're the type of person who likes quality and would rather buy once rather than replace a cheaper item down the line then just buy this machine and skip the other garbage out there. You will not regret your purchase.
By mike
Polisher
July 17, 2013
Should have been my first polisher purchase. I doubt there's a single polisher that can match the Flex for versatility and results. It took me to the show car results I was looking for and made it simple.
By chris
the BEST
April 30, 2013
Hands down the best thing I have purchased for my detailing business. I use this polisher everyday! From applying waxes & sealants, to heavy scratch removal and polishing. My go to polisher. The highest of quality and smoothness. Buy this machine!
By Chris
Sweeeeet!
December 5, 2012
This buffer is REALLY nice! A high quality product smooth light and totally worth the money. Trust me, you will not regret spending the money for this.
By CC
Amazing!!!!!
October 19, 2012
Just bought this and used it today. Light, powerful and smooooooth!!!! This product is totally worth the money. Quality. You will not be disappointed.
By Morgan M.
Like driving a Porche
August 6, 2012
Just finished detailing my Montego Blue 325i today. I used it with Meguairs NXT machine polish. This was my first time using a machine polisher and I am thrilled with the result. All small scuffs and scratches have disappeared and not a single hologram. I highly agree with your review of this product. HiFi Man, Ireland.
By Ken R.
A wonderful buffer
June 11, 2012
I have used this buffer for just about 2 years and I am simply amazed at the results I achieve using the Flex XC3401. I previously used as 10" buffer which was much more work and the results were substandard. I actually look forward to polishing my cars. Thanks FLEX for such a great product.
By WC
Simply The Best
April 17, 2012
Best DA polisher on the planet. Makes the PC, Meg, and Griots look and feel like Harbor Freight tools. First thing you notice is the quality and fit and finish. It's made in Germany so I expect high quality. Second, you'll notice it's a million times smoother than other da polishers. Lasty, it corrects very quickly. Anyone telling you a Griots and match the 3401 is crazy. I still keep my other DA for spreading wax.
By Corey
Best Machine on the Market
November 17, 2011
Incredibly smooth performance compared to every other D/A polisher. Far better quality than the competition by a long shot. I can't really do it justice in this format so take a look at my full review here. http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-reviews/23276-review-flex-xc-3401-dual-action-orbital-polisher.html
By Wills
It lives up to the hype
November 12, 2011
Well as the ex-coach of the Az Cardinals would say "It is what we thought it was!"..meaning, its awesome. WHY? Lets start with how smooth it runs. Not having to worry about if its going to keep spinning or not like a standard DA. This thing keeps moving which is great but is ESPECIALLY helpful when doing things like...along a tape line or body line where you want to get that last 1/2" or so where the swirls sometimes like to hide. If you tilt a DA on its edge to get extra pressure to the edge of the pad, most times it quits spinning. Not the flex. I've experienced MUCH nicer 'trimming' results with this baby. Tilt it, put the pressure on the edge...let it do the correcting, wipe away your polish and enjoy the COMPLETELY swirl free results. Another things ive been please with is, for ME at least, on factory clears...it works great with the Meguiars D300 compound and cutting disc. I have not experienced any hazing from it and its great to have something that is so easy to use like D300 on a machine that has that extra edge to it. The ONLY thing id say be careful of is...don't touch the cast iron head on this thing after you've run it a few passes..it gets hot. I got a couple little stingers the first time i used it just because i was use to grabbing that part when i go to clean my pad on other DA's...but now i've totally gotten use to just holding it upside down by the main body...no problems. Awesome machine and if you can get it i say go for it. You'll never want to part with it.
By Anthony
A time saver and money maker!
November 11, 2011
To me time is money. If I can do a job faster, then I make more money. For years I've been using the Porter Cable 7424 and it has worked out fine. I decided to take a gamble and pay three times as much as a PC for this FLEX. It paid for itself almost immediately!! With this particular tool I have found that I gain at least 30% efficiency in my detailing. With a Porter Cable you have to stop the machine, change the speed, and then start it up again when you go over a thin area like a leading edge or a hood scoop. With the XC3401's variable speed trigger I just slow it down when I need to and then go back to full throttle when it is safe. All without having to turn off the machine or change my speed settings manually! There is also the fact that the entire movement is gear driven. There is no stopping the forced rotation of this polisher. That also gains you some power and efficiency. It won't fix anything the Porter Cable won't fix, but it will do it in less time, and that is definitely worth it. Anytime you can buy a tool which can turn a 3 hour job into a 2 hour job, you have to get it!
By matt h.
great product
October 14, 2011
works great with the meguires microfiber system
By B H.
Great product!
August 19, 2011
Used it for three years now, with incredible results and no problems. Easy to handle, effective on all paint finishes, and extremely well-made. I expect it to last a long time. I am not a commercial detailer, but a very finicky amateur. I usually use the Flex for initial clearning, followed by second with Klasse All-in-One, then use Klasse final coat, applied by hand. Then I follow up with PS-21, by hand. The Flex random pattern removes swirls and does not produce them at all, used as directed. After having used the cheaper brands, I consider the Flex a revelation. The 6.5 hook and loop Lake Country pads are also a great product, and the Flex makes optimal use of them. The Flex is great for the larger jobs, and its durability allows one to use it without worry of its overheating on the challenging jobs.

Page 1 of 2
1