3.6
25 Reviews
5
40% (10)
4
24% (6)
3
8% (2)
2
8% (2)
1
20% (5)
48% Recommend this product (12 of 25 responses)
By donald green
IN
April 5, 2019
works like it should
it does leak a little but I just got impatient to try it out. filled a 35 gallon water tank 3 times and no water spots on a black truck. i did get one of the camco rv filters installed in line with the garden hose.
Prosgood filter kit, way cheaper route than the cr spotless. same result. the clear canisters is nice to be able to see if the filters need replaced.
Consnothing major for a con, i would personally buy a few more later.
By Brian
Denver, CO
April 3, 2019
I'll never go back
I used this for the first time this weekend on a wash of my and my wife's cars. I will never go back to using hard water again after this!
Pros* Washing and drying is SO much easier with softened water. * The car (natural) looks really clean afterwards. * Any water missed after cleaning doesn't feel like it "etched" the paint. * Setup is easy and straightforward. My fittings had some Teflon tape, but I added more.
Cons* The PVC attachments need to be tightly fitted (I also added additional Teflon tape), especially if you have high water pressure. Try it out and retighten if necessary to avoid leaks. * Not really a con, but get some quick couplers for the hose ends - it makes switching fast & easy. The "cons" are minor. Get this now!
By Michael DeJohn
West Milford NJ
September 4, 2018
Great product! But.......
The product works as promised. Not one spot on the car and I have extremely hard water. The only problem is the plastic hose ends, one broke and had water spraying all over the garage. Before you install I would suggest replacing the hose ends with brass ones, it’s a $20 fix and we’ll worth it. Also I wouldn’t hurt to include instructions.
By Peter
South Florida
June 17, 2018
Works as described
After reading reviews i would like to say the people giving it a bad review because of the fittings are a bunch of sissies. When I received the kit the fittings were already on the housings. Any consumer with common sense would know you need to use Teflon tape on the threads. I put the tape on them and not one leak. I Have washed 2 cars today with it and it performed flawless. To the people that can not put on Teflon tape grow a set please and have someone else wash your car
ProsWorks great did not leave one spot on the car
ConsShould include instructions. Easy to figure out though
By Red Devil Wash And Detail
Bakersfield Ca
July 10, 2016
Works Great!
This combo does exactly what it says it will. I would have givin it five stars but after hooking it up it started leaking from there or four fittings. Take the time to hand tighten all fittings and connections before you use. I've used it on about five cars so far and has done what it said it would. I'm not sure how long the filter will last, but I guess that depends on how hard the water is in your area.
ProsEasy to hook up and use. I noticed a big difference I the quality of water. Less soap and water is a lot slicker. Which means less chance of scratches.
ConsNo way to tell if you need to change the filter or recharge it until you end up with water spots.
By George
Dimondale, Michigan
June 20, 2016
Water filter kit
Product works excellent. My only complaint: The hoses that were included has fittings that were smaller than the hose they were on, causing them to leak. I purchased proper size fittings, and it works well now.
ProsVehicle is spot free after washing
ConsWrong size fittings on hose, extra work needed to repair this.
By Adrian
Midland TX
June 16, 2016
Awesome
i hosed down my truck to see if it would leave any streaks then dried it. Results were awesome. No streaks at all. Goodbye hard water. The only reason that i did not rate this item 5 stars is because the hoses connecting the filters leaked a little which was fixed with plumbers tape.
ProsEliminates hard water No streaks on vehicle easy set up
ConsHoses leak
By Paul B.
Plymouth, Ma.
May 7, 2016
Wash, rinse and drive.
This product works great, I have washed my car twice so far and after the rinse I just drive it and there is barely a water spot. We have hard water here where I live in Plymouth and I used to have water spots everywhere.
ProsEasy to install.
ConsThey say to empty the excess water from the soft water filter after each use. Not that hard just a bit of a pain.
By Todd
Crestview, FL
April 30, 2015
Effective but it leaks....ALOT!!!
This kit really does help in cutting the water spots down to nothing on my dark grey car but it leaks almost to the point of being absolutely unacceptable.
ProsFlawless finish when rinsing with this kit with no water spots.
ConsIt leaks and sprays water all over the place between all of the connections.
By Joseph
United States
February 5, 2015
Looks good?
I purchased this because I am on a well system with very hard water in Florida. I was hoping to eliminate most of the water spots while washing but unfortunately I still got tons of them. Unless I'm doing something very wrong I can not really tell the difference between the water with or without without some sort of water purity kit. I will continue to use it as a precaution. Also while hooking it up there was a large amount of leakage both from the seal of the connectors and where the hoses were cut and fitted with ends. I ended up using my own hoses to hook it up and decided to just deal with the leaking from the seam.
By Eric
IL
September 28, 2014
Setup isn't nearly as complicated as previously reviewed
So, I've only set this system up and have not officially used the product on the car yet (today is the first day). But I wanted to at least provide an initial review of the setup as it appears most people who have provided negative reviews seem to only harp on this. The setup couldn't be any easier. The hose that comes with it definitely could be more suitable or of better quality. However, it isn't difficult to pick up the short feeder hose/replacements that are typically installed on hose reels. I actually drilled a few holes in my large metal hose reel setup and mounted the filter right to the reel itself as it stays near the hose faucet. If you can't set this thing up properly, even with a little tinkering, then you probably shouldn't be washing your car either.
ProsEasy setup Good Quality
By Larry
Odessa, Texas
July 16, 2014
very poor quailty
hoses that connect the two canisters is a joke. When I took it out of the box I was shocked at how poor the quality was. Was not expecting that from this company. Had to rebuild all the fittings since they all sprayed every where. Would not buy it again.
By Ray baker
Grove city, ohio
May 28, 2014
Crystal clear water
I have well water so I always have to go to a car wash. If not the hard water leaves white spots and run marks all over. This product was so easy to install and use. No more hard water coming out of the hose so I can now wash my vehicle at my house no problem. Great product.
By Lee L & Kay L Bettenhausen
Sanibel, Florida
May 7, 2014
connectors leak on one hose
the plastic connectors leak
ProsStopped the spotting when washing my cars
ConsOne hose leaked
By Travis
Somerset, WI
April 29, 2014
Leaky fittings
we had to upgrade to better fittings to stop the leaking, otherwise as far as we can tell it works well....
By Eric
November 26, 2013
Don't leave out in winter...
This worked well the couple of times I got to use it...leaked a bit but didn't seem to have an appreciable effect on the water pressure. I had it mounted outside, the temperature dropped pretty dramatically recently and pretty much every piece broke in some way due to the freezing temperatures. One of the canisters burst and the other ones connectors broke off. None of the pieces were salvageable. If you purchase this product, don't leave it out in freezing temperatures. Come next Spring, I'll be in the market for a new filtration system...a shame I blew $150+ on this system.
By Geoff
September 29, 2013
Don't waste your money
This is a worthless kit, I had to have multiple replacement pieces sent to me and it still leaks.
By timmy O'toole
February 23, 2013
good product
i likes to wash car and this do a good job clean some water nice so you ok with soap and car dont get fuuny marks called scratchies.
By dean schmidt
December 15, 2011
no more spots!
Ive bee searching for a good system for my hard water spots. This sytem is great and no more spots!! I can take my time drying now. Thanks AG!!
By John Paul
September 16, 2011
Worthless...IMO
The filter kit was presented to me from customer service when ordered as a way to prevent water spots. Followed the directions on set up and use. More water spots than before. Called tech support and was told that I still must dry the car, just that the water will be "softer". I should have invested in $150.00 worth of microfiber and waffle drying towels.
By Sergei
August 4, 2011
A must have!!!
We bought this for our shop in Arizona. Before we used to wash cars with straigh tap water which is very rich in sediments and minerals, so water spots were a HUGE problem, especially on black cars. After installing this filtering system, the amount of spotting was reduced by at least 80%, and the residual spots were removed by towel druing the vehicle. Softer water definitely gives you longer drying time, even in direct sun on a black car. We absolutely love this kit, money well spent. Thanks Autogeek. PS: Make sure the kit comes with the hose coupling rubber gasket, as ours didnt
By Kris Holliday
April 8, 2011
Nice little unit!
Setup was a easy. Nice quality. I would recommend getting two of them for the best performance.
By hemirae
January 11, 2011
it is a joke!
waste of money and time (setting up).
By tom
July 29, 2008
skip it
Very dissatisfied. Maybe it's "user error" but having to constantly rejuvenate the resin every wash for poor results seems a bit absurd. It did work fairly well the first wash, if memory serves me correctly, but then it was all downhill. It is cheap compared to other systems meant to serve the same function, but apparently you get what you pay for.
By Ottawa Boy
May 9, 2008
** Works Great **
I had it for the summer at our cottage and the wife loves it .... For something that small, damm thing works great!

Page 1 of 1