4.6
17 Reviews
5
76% (13)
4
12% (2)
3
6% (1)
2
6% (1)
1
0% (0)
82% Recommend this product (14 of 17 responses)
By Taylor
Freeland, WA
October 19, 2019
Two steps in one is pretty great...
Anything that saves time is of tremendous interest! The tar and tree sap are all too common here in the PNW. It just melts away with this stuff!
By Jonathan
Nashville, TN
July 13, 2019
Great 2-in-1 product
I use this as an alternative to buying Iron-X and Tar-X separately. It still works great and prepares my paint for polishing and protection. It also works great to remove iron contaminants from wheels. Highly recommend this product instead of buying each as a separate item.
ProsQuick, Efficient, and Powerful
ConsNot quite as powerful as the individual Iron-X or Tar-X
By DonKO
Western NY
October 9, 2018
Amazing product. Go to wheel cleaner, deep paint prep.
Astounded by this product. Safe for paint, so overspray is not a concern ... apart from annual deep paint cleaning before correction for CarPro Essence and Reload treatment, it is the best wheel cleaner I've used. Brake dust and dirt are easily wiped from rims with microfiber, although I use a wheel brush for hard to reach areas. I will always have some on hand.
ProsAmazing wheel cleaner. Decontaminates paint before correction. Reasonable price for outstanding product.
ConsSmell is strong, but similar to other similar products. Might lose some potency over 4-6 month (but still works).
By Leon
Sioux city, iowa
August 19, 2018
If it works, it works
The smelliest solution to decontaminate unprotected paint
ProsWorks fantastically
ConsSmells like death
By Dave
fddc0508@yahoo.com
February 17, 2018
Strong
I love this product, I am extremely loyal to CarPro because they make products that work. Trix is as powerful as full strength IronX but with a tar remover. This is one of my go to chemicals when decontaminating a car, works great on the front and sides where tar is the most heavy. Trix and IronX used together is a sold choice before clay, making life much easier. Definitely recommend using this.
ProsWorks as advertised.
ConsSmells like IronX. It’s pricy but worth it if you’re a high end business.
By Buffy
Illinois
April 14, 2016
Works well
Works well at removing iron deposits and it will also help to loosen tar deposits
By Lars
Sandy Hook, CT
October 5, 2015
Didn't do much for me
If your car is reasonably well maintained (weekly/bi-weekly proper washes + keeping up on protection) to begin with, this product is probably a waste of time and money. I'm doing a winter prep right now. After a good soapy Dawn wash I decided to use TRIX to get rid of any leftover tar/iron contaminants. Either my car didn't have any, or the product failed to dissolve them. I have a light, silver car and any reaction with contaminants would have been easy to spot. The only place I saw any reaction at all was on the wheels (not much), but for that particular use, there are better products out there.
ProsMay be good if you have a seriously neglected car.
ConsPoor sprayer, squirts instead of mists.
By Shane
NB, Canada
May 7, 2015
Works as advertised
It took me 2 applications in some areas but easily removed tar and the rail dust that plagues my white paint. Anything it didn't remove then easily came off with the clay bar. What use to take hours turned into only a couple.
ProsWay easier to use than any other product that I've tried
ConsStrong smell
By Mary
Monterey Peninsula, CA
December 17, 2014
Great rust remover!
I used Tri-X on some rust spots before claying. It worked great to remove brake dust before washing the wheels too.
ProsSimple to use. Very effective with no scrubbing required.
ConsA little toxic smelling.
By Rodger VanAusdal
United States
September 18, 2014
LOVE IT!
This stuff is awesome. Cleans tar and iron deposits off of white paint like no ones business. Great on wheels too! I don't know bout the pH level on this. It smells VERY toxic. I use rubber gloves when handling it, and considering using a mask or some type. BUT don't get me wrong, it does the job!
ProsDoes what it should. Works fast.
ConsExpensive. STRONG ODOR
By Justin Rapp
New Jersey
August 8, 2014
Makes short work of brake dust
I love this product for use on brake dust. BMW OEM brakes spew dust onto the wheels faster than I can keep up with it, especially in north east winters. Spring cleaning, this stuff takes off the brake dust in a few minutes per wheel. Ceramic almost dust-less brake pads going on this weekend, but i am sure this product is still going to be in my arsenal of cleaning supplies.
ProsWorks great on brake dust Saves a lot of time scrubbing
Conseats away at freshly sealed driveway coatings
By JP
Rust Belt, Indiana
July 26, 2014
Very interesting product
I'm not a young guy, but honestly, I had never heard of 'rail dust'. In preparation for waxing, I very thoroughly washed my 2 year old white F150. After drying, I found a million little flecks of tar and reddish-orange dots on the paint. I was not about to wax over all that stuff. A little on-line research informed me about 'rail dust' and 'industrial fallout', so I started looking for a product to deal with it. This one seemed to be what I needed. The following weekend, I washed the truck again, then used this product. It really does work. It actually works better on the rail dust than it does on the tar, so when I've used this up, I'll order the iron remover separately and use a separate tar remover. It did remove all traces of the rail dust, and left me with a paint surface that looked perfectly clean. It worked faster for me than advertised. I think the longest I let it dwell on the surface was about 3-4 minutes, and that was almost always long enough. A couple of caveats: - On a white or light-colored vehicle, this product is very easy to use. I think on a black or other dark color, it would be much more difficult to use (it would be just as effective, but much more difficult to observe the action). - This product WILL soften rubber or plastics, and since you apply it by spraying, you WILL get some of it onto rubber or plastic mouldings and trim. Remove it from those surfaces immediately with a damp rag, and work on small areas so you can rinse those areas quickly before the synthetics are affected. I can't see going through the effort of masking or taping off all the plastics and rubber on a late model vehicle, but if you work quickly and carefully, you can avoid any damage to those items. - You will basically need to wash your vehicle, then use this product, and then wash it again before waxing. (After you've gone to all this effort, you would be silly to not complete the job by waxing). I used about half of the 1-liter bottle on the F150, which of course is a large vehicle, but I did everything except the roof. I think it's a good product, even though next time I'll order the iron remover separately. After waxing, my truck looked far better than new.
ProsVery effective, relatively easy to use.
ConsYou must be careful around rubber and plastics.
By Reggie
Big apple
May 25, 2014
Silly rabbit
Once you use TRIX before you clay and compound you will be hooked and wondering how you ever got along with out it.
By DK
Detroit, MI
April 30, 2014
Works great but could not get the stubborn spots.
Worked great at covering a large area and removing tar from difficult to reach areas. Really like how the color activation lets one know they're treating the right areas. Unfortunately some stubborn spots refused to be removed and had to get the more intense products. TRIX was a big time saver regaurdless and I would recommend to others.
By Tom
Massachusetts
February 22, 2014
Extremely Effective
Fantastic product, spray on and wait for it to turn purple then rinse off the dissolved iron particles. Bits of tar may take additional light agitation with a sponge or wash mitt, but be careful because this stuff stinks and should only be used in a well ventilated area. I also suspect this product removes any wax or sealant on the vehicle but that isn't really an issue because if I'm using this stuff to decontaminate the paint I'm going to add a layer of protection after. I would definitely purchase this product again.
Pros-Removes Tar with little to no effort -Dissolves embedded iron particles with no effort -PH Balanced
Cons-Smells Horrid
By brazuca
February 14, 2013
2 in 1
Powerful iron/tar remover. See my review on AGO: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-reviews/60668-review-carpro-trix.html
By canes
February 6, 2013
Stinks
works great, takes brake dust right off. very powerful and effective but will never use it again. even a closed bottle stinks up the whole garage. i have no idea where to store this bottle!!

Page 1 of 1