We will meet or beat anyone's pricing, shipping or promo!

4.5
17 Reviews
5
71% (12)
4
18% (3)
3
6% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
6% (1)
88% Recommend this product (15 of 17 responses)
By Nak Y.
Portland, OR
It's good~!!
November 25, 2019
I love this item. it's very good~!!!
By Brandon E.
NY
Only thing that worked
July 16, 2018
I had some heavy duty baxed in wax. Meaning it wouldn't wipe away, it was in the pores. This stuff and its brush was the only thing that worked. It's great, a must have!
By Ron
NW, Md.
See no difference
May 24, 2018
To me it seems to work no differently than most of the other products. I cannot tell whether it cleaned the trim. It just looks as though it just "covers" the wax spots on my auto plastic trim. I guess time will tell when the "sheen" goes out of the product and whether the white wax spots reappear.
ProsIt comes with nice little double ended brush for applying. It is a Mothers product.
ConsThe black trim is made with sort of a matte finish and this product makes it sort of shiny which makes it stand out.
By Richard
Pembina, ND
Works great, Great Value
March 6, 2018
I needed some trim cleaner to clean up wax residue. I read the reviews as well as followed recommendations on the forum here on AGO. This product works great. The brush that come with it is great for scrubbing off the wax residue and the product works very well at restoring the black trim. The vehicle I used it on is just over a yr old, so I can't comment on how effective it is on older heavily oxidized or faded trim. This product is also considerably cheaper than many of it's competitors here. Did my whole truck and barely put a dent in the bottle so it will last a very long time. Very glad I followed the recommendation.
ProsGreat value compared to other similar products.
By D M.
ARNOLDS PARK, IOWA
WORKS GREAT AND WILL CONTINUE TO USE IT
August 22, 2016
EASY ON AND OFF AND RESULT WAS GREAT.
By GLS
Richmond, VA
Good product
July 29, 2016
This product does improve the trim's appearance, both black and gray plastic trim. Two or more applications are needed on oxidized trim. It is not a miracle/magical wipe on/off product that turns faded trim into like-new trim instantly, but the product works and improves neglected trim work. You need to be patient and work the product with moderate pressure, especially on any oxidized areas. The included brush is very helpful to work the product into the dimples/grain of textured trim. It removed wax stains from the trim and along the edges where the trim meets the auto-body. Depending upon the climate, it can dry somewhat quickly so apply, or reapply, enough product to give you the needed working time, and work with an overlapping process to achieve a more uniform result. Seems best to work in small section at a time and have a few microfiber towels to wipe-off and buff once you've scrubbed the area. Achieving properly cleaned plastic trim greatly improves the effectiveness of trim restorer and/or protective products.
ProsValue priced Improves plastic trim appearance
By Terence G.
Sharpsville, Pa.,16150
A magic product
July 7, 2016
I own a 1986 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28 IROC that has the faux vinyl louvers, I took them off for the first time since it came off the assembly line. I did them with the Mothers Back to Black Heavy Duty Trim Cleaner.
By Karlen
Saugus, CA
This stuff WORKS
April 21, 2016
I got polish on my trim over a month ago when I was applying Opti-Coat and was ignorant to worry about getting it of then. I picked this stuff up local and it is working great to get rid of it. Highly recommended!
By Kent
Wahoo, NE
NICE JOB
December 13, 2015
Finally I got rid of those wax stains on the black plastic. Works great and makes it look new again. Finished of with the Wolfgang trim sealant. Perfect.
By Mkt
Philippines
It works real well!
November 27, 2015
I have an old 99 5 series and the black plastic trim has the usual whitish residue due to oxidation and definitely wax. Quite annoying, it was something I know was inevitable so I just tried to use whatever household detergent or car all purpose cleaner with little effect. And I tried to hide it by using other dressings (trim, protectant or even tire gels), no real success. I thought this trim cleaner was another gimmick, so I ignored it. The bug bit me and I bought it, good choice. I tried it on the bm's faded trim. I expected it to be like water or a very thin liquid and not like the thick liquid. The brush is quite thin and the bristles, for now seem a bit to stiff. I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly and easily this removed that faded look. And I didn't need that much product to restore the trim's clean look. It now looks the way it should: Dark, and even. Even without any trim protectant or dressing, it looks great. I applied my favorite protectant, Ultimate Protectant (sorry Mothers), the look of the Ultimate is even nicer and more even than before I cleaned the car's trim, and I therefore expect the protectant (any protectant) to last longer. Brilliant!
ProsWorks fast, works as advertised
By Ken
Northbrook, illinois
Mothers heavy duty trim cleaner
June 9, 2015
This product was easy to use. It actually worked as well as they advertised. I was very pleased with the results. Be sure to use an old micro fiber rag to wipe off the excess product though because it was toast when I was done.
By Derek
orange county
Great product
December 13, 2014
I used this on my Mazda 3 wiper grill that turned white from waxing . I thought I ruined it for sure. I purchased this product and was amazed at the results. The grill looks new again. Thanks Mothers.
By karl
lehigh acres, fl
stuff works
December 7, 2014
I put up a post about trim cleaner and was told about this stuff along with a few others. I went ahead and got this and used it and it worked. stuff cleans the trim very well. makes the trim a nice new color of black. this is just a cleaner not a sealant it does not add any color but it does make the trim look nice and black again. I would buy again..
Prosworks great and priced right
Consnone that I know of
By Bruce
Phoenix, AZ
Works Great
November 3, 2014
I used this on my pick-up truck bed plastic liner that had dried on wax. The dried wax has been on for just over a year and I have tried two other products prior to using Mothers Back to Black. One required a lot of applications and heavy scrubbing and then much of the wax remained. Another product required less effort and seemed to remove all the wax but after 2-days, the wax returned. Mothers Back to Black required minimal effort, removed all the wax and so far after a couple days, has not returned.
ProsEasy to use, requires minimal effort and works great.
ConsNone
By Ted
Rochester, MN
Very Good Product
September 9, 2014
Been using the Back to Black product for many years so decided to try this cleaner on my SUV that has black plastic trim around the entire vehicle. The product does and excellent job of removing salt, grime, and even dried on night crawlers.
ProsApplies easily, quick clean up of all plastic trim Leaves a finish that beads water
ConsNone
By Scott
Coral Springs, Fl.
The Best Trim Cleaner
June 2, 2014
I tried lots of different types of cleaners, trying to get old built up wax off the trim of my car. Up to and including WD-40 (didn't work very well, lol). Out of all the cleaners tried, this Back to Black Heavy Duty Trim Cleaner did the job. I waited a bit before doing this review to ensure that, like most of the others I tried, this one did NOT cover the wax. It actually took it off instead of covering it up.
ProsExcellent trim cleaner. Removed old wax with little effort, just used the brush that came with it.
ConsNone!
By Richard
San Antonio
Disappointed
May 19, 2014
Read really good reviews on the forum but would not recommend this product for hard plastic trim. I repeated the process 7 times and wore out the included brush. Used one of those multi-row fingernail brushes after that and never was able to get past all of the oxidation and other discolorations. I guess it is good for flexible plastic trim.

Page 1 of 1